The Lightwave LW-Life-5KW-24V is a 5.12kWh lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4) battery for 24V solar and backup power systems. It stores energy from solar panels or the grid, then powers your devices during outages or overnight. It suits small businesses, home offices and student households that want dependable backup without the maintenance of lead-acid batteries.
Key Features & Benefits
- 6,000+ cycle lifespan: The battery is rated for over 6,000 charge cycles at 80% depth of discharge. At one full cycle per day, that equals more than 16 years of theoretical use. As a result, you replace batteries far less often than with a typical lead-acid bank.
- Smart BMS protection: A built-in battery management system guards against over-voltage, under-voltage, over-current, short circuits and extreme temperatures. Consequently, the battery protects itself and your connected equipment without manual monitoring.
- Direct inverter communication: The BMS supports RS485, CAN and RS232 communication. For instance, it works with Growatt, Victron, Schneider, LuxPower and Pylontech-protocol inverters. Your inverter can then read the charge level and adjust charging automatically.
- 100A continuous charge and discharge: The battery handles up to 100A in either direction. In practice, that covers roughly 2.4–2.5kW of continuous load. This is enough for an office setup, lighting, networking gear and a small fridge running together.
- Rack-mountable, low-maintenance design: The compact unit fits standard equipment racks and can be expanded as your needs grow. Additionally, LiFePO4 chemistry needs no water top-ups and contains no toxic heavy metals.
Technical Specifications
Battery & Capacity
| Specification | Value |
|---|---|
| Chemistry | Lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4) |
| Rated energy | 5.12kWh (5,120Wh) |
| Usable energy at 80% DoD | Approx. 4.1kWh |
| System voltage | 24V (typically 25.6V nominal for LiFePO4 – see notes) |
| Capacity | 200Ah (calculated from 5,120Wh ÷ 25.6V – see notes) |
Performance
| Specification | Value |
|---|---|
| Max. continuous charge current | 100A |
| Max. continuous discharge current | 100A – approx. 2.4–2.5kW continuous load |
| Cycle life | 6,000+ cycles at 80% DoD – 16+ years at one cycle per day |
Protection (BMS)
| Specification | Value |
|---|---|
| Battery management system | Built-in smart BMS |
| Protections | Over-voltage, under-voltage, over-current, short circuit, temperature |
Communication & Compatibility
| Specification | Value |
|---|---|
| Communication ports | RS485, CAN, RS232 |
| Compatible inverter brands | Growatt, Victron, Schneider, LuxPower, Pylontech-protocol inverters |
| Inverter requirement | 24V battery input only (not compatible with 48V inverters) |
Physical & Warranty
| Specification | Value |
|---|---|
| Form factor | Rack-mountable |
| Package dimensions | 54 × 23 × 45 (unit not stated – likely cm) |
| Weight | To be confirmed |
| Warranty | 8 years (manufacturer listing) |
| EAN | 5049805401037 |
Use Cases & Applications
For Students
Power cuts often land during assignment deadlines and exam prep. This battery keeps a study setup running through them. For instance, a laptop (65W), Wi-Fi router (15W) and three LED bulbs (30W) draw about 110W combined. The battery can run that load for roughly 30–35 hours after inverter losses.
It is ideal for off-campus housing, shared student apartments and hostels with a small solar setup. Additionally, several housemates can share one system for laptops, phones and lighting.
For Business
Small businesses lose sales and data when power drops. This battery keeps essential equipment online. For example, four laptops, a router, office lighting and CCTV draw about 375W together. The battery can support that load for roughly 9–10 hours.
It works well for:
- Retail shops and M-Pesa agents: Keep POS terminals, lights and payment connectivity running during outages.
- Small offices and cyber cafés: Maintain computers, printers and internet without switching to a generator.
- Security and networking: Power CCTV systems, routers and access control through extended blackouts.
- Solar installers: Upgrade 24V off-grid systems, replacing two 12V 200Ah lead-acid batteries with one unit.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will it work with my inverter?
It works with 24V inverters only. However, it will not work with 48V inverters. For full communication, use a supported brand such as Growatt, Victron, Schneider or LuxPower. Set the inverter’s battery type to lithium or the matching protocol (often “Pylontech”). Other 24V inverters can still use it without communication, using manual voltage settings.
Can I connect it to a 5kW inverter?
Yes, if the inverter is 24V. However, one battery supports about 2.4–2.5kW of continuous load. For heavier loads, such as running a 5kW inverter at full output, add a second battery in parallel.
How long will it power my devices?
Divide the usable energy (about 4,100Wh) by your total load in watts. Then subtract 5–10% for inverter losses. For example, a 200W load runs for roughly 18–19 hours.
How long does the battery last?
It is rated for over 6,000 cycles at 80% depth of discharge. At one cycle per day, that is more than 16 years. Additionally, the manufacturer offers an 8-year warranty.
How does it compare to lead-acid batteries?
Deep-cycle lead-acid batteries are usually discharged to about 50% to protect their lifespan. They also typically last far fewer cycles. By contrast, this LiFePO4 battery delivers more usable energy per charge and needs no maintenance. Two 12V 200Ah lead-acid batteries in series give about 2.4kWh usable. This single unit gives about 4.1kWh.
Can I charge it without solar panels?
Yes. Your inverter can charge it from grid power or a generator. Consequently, it also works as a standalone backup battery with a 24V inverter-charger.
Important Notes (Merchant Verification Before Publishing)
- Voltage inconsistency on manufacturer site: The Lightwave product page’s meta description lists 51.2V. However, the product title and body confirm a 24V battery. Do not copy the 51.2V figure. Confirm the exact nominal voltage (24V vs 25.6V).
- Ah rating: 200Ah is calculated, not stated by the manufacturer. Confirm from the datasheet or unit label.
- Datasheet: The official PDF datasheet is image-based and could not be text-extracted. Please verify specs against it directly.
- Weight and unit dimensions: Not published. The 54 × 23 × 45 figure is the package size, and its unit is unstated.
- Parallel expansion: Confirm the maximum number of units supported in parallel.
- Operating and charging temperature range: Not published.
- Included accessories: Confirm whether communication cables, battery cables and rack-mounting hardware are included.
- Display/app: No LCD, Bluetooth or app monitoring is listed. Do not claim these features unless confirmed.
- Local warranty: Confirm that the 8-year warranty is honoured through the Kenyan distributor, and note any cycle or usage conditions.
Available at Novelty Technologies Solutions





Reviews
There are no reviews yet.